Sustainability

Certified Sustainable Housing Label

We have developed a label aimed at helping socially and environmentally responsible real estate companies find investors – thereby opening up a new market for impact investing.

How to get sustainable real estate companies together with investors seeking sustainable investments? That was the question we asked ourselves. The Certified Sustainable Housing label is the solution we found.

The market for sustainable investments has agreed on standardization in recent years. Intended to serve as an indication of sustainable investment opportunities, the resulting standards help investors identify and put their money into reliable green, social or sustainable investments.

The market for Green, Social and Sustainability Bonds has grown strongly in recent years as a result of this standardization, with the majority of issuers coming from Europe. The demand for sustainable investment opportunities is so high that it exceeds the supply of investment opportunities.

The Label

Developed by RITTERWALD: From now on this label serves as a hallmark for certified sustainable investments in the real estate industry.

The label is applicable to housing companies of all sizes and legal forms in many European countries. It has been awarded to companies in France, Germany, the Netherlands and the UK.

Querying and evaluating more than 30 individual criteria in the categories “Green” and “Social” ensures a thorough assessment of the sustainability profile of the respective housing company.

The label aligns with the market standards, the Green Bond Principles and Social Bond Principles issued by the International Capital Market Association (ICMA).

Enhance market access

Nevertheless, real estate companies, and in particular housing companies, have been largely denied access to the market for sustainable investments to date. Their considerable social influence is hard to measure and their environmental successes are difficult to communicate to those outside the industry. After all, much of the social housing stock is not “best in class” owing to the age of the buildings. As a result, companies with social housing have so far not been able to consider using sustainable financing across their entire portfolio. That option has only been available for selected newbuild portfolios (including complex modernized buildings), those being the only ones able to comply with the high standards of the previous labels and certificates.

Improvement as a sustainability factor

Looking in from the outside, it is easy to overlook the fact that housing companies with old housing stock make a major positive contribution to the pursuit of sustainability. They rent their properties out at below market price in a socially acceptable manner and can achieve significant CO2savings when they renovate and modernize their buildings (e.g. by replacing heating systems, windows or external cladding). Often, however, such improvements can only be realized by raising additional capital.

The existing housing stock provides affordable housing companies with tremendous potential to make a positive impact as they offer primarily below market rate rents and potential for energy efficiency savings.

Label for sustainable improvements

Investors and stakeholders need reliable proof of a housing company’s sustainability. Possessing extensive expertise in the housing industry and working with energy management companies in the real estate sector, we are familiar with all of the relevant environmental and social performance indicators. In conjunction with four European housing companies, we have developed evaluation criteria for measuring the green and social impact of housing companies – the basis for the Certified Sustainable Housing label.

Certified Sustainable Housing label

As part of the labeling process, we examine housing companies seeking a sustainability certificate against a comprehensive catalogue of criteria and relevant social, environmental and economic performance indicators. A second independent authority then reviews our findings. If successful in achieving certification, the housing company may then use this label to present itself on the financial market and to the public at large as a Certified Sustainable Housing company.

Annual review

The criteria judged under the label make it possible to measure the sustainability of a housing company. An annual check is carried out of whether the company has complied with the implementation and fulfilment of the goals set out in the labeling process. Each company must transparently document its progress and results, and the label is withdrawn if a company fails to meet its sustainability targets.

Sustainability

Certified Sustainable Housing Label

Wir haben ein Label entwickelt, das sozial und ökologisch agierenden Immobilienunternehmen helfen soll, Investoren zu finden – und dem Impact Investing einen neuen Markt eröffnet.

Wie können nachhaltige Immobilienunternehmen und Investoren auf der Suche nach nachhaltigen Investments zusammengebracht werden? Unser Lösungsvorschlag: das Certified Sustainable Housing Label.

In den letzten Jahren hat sich der Markt für nachhaltige Investments auf Standards geeinigt. Als Indikatoren für nachhaltige Geldanlagen sollen sie Investoren helfen, vertrauenswürdige grüne, soziale oder nachhaltige Investments zu finden und zu finanzieren.

Durch eine erfolgte Standardisierung ist der Markt für Green, Social and Sustainable Bonds in den letzten Jahren stark gewachsen, der größte Anteil der Emittenten kommt aus Europa. Die Nachfrage nach nachhaltigem Investment ist so groß, dass sie das Angebot an Investitionsmöglichkeiten übersteigt.

Das Label

Diese Label dient ab jetzt als Kennzeichen und Siegel für zertifiziert nachhaltige Investments in der Immobilienwirtschaft.

Das Label ist für europäische Wohnungs­unternehmen jeder Größe und Rechtsform konzipiert. Es wurde bereits in Frankreich, Deutschland, den Niederlanden und Großbritannien vergeben.

Die Abfrage und Bewertung von mehr als 30 Einzelkriterien in den Kategorien Ökologie und Soziales ermöglicht eine belastbare Bewertung des Nachhaltigkeitsprofils der jeweiligen Wohnungsgesellschaft.

Das Label orientiert sich an den Marktstandards, den Green Bond Principles und Social Bond Principles der International Capital Market Association (ICMA).

Marktzugang vereinfachen

Immobilien- und insbesondere Wohnungsunternehmen blieb der Zugang zum Markt für nachhaltige Investments allerdings bislang weitestgehend verwehrt. Ihr großer sozialer Einfluss ist schwer zu messen und die Erfolge im ökologischen Bereich sind Außenstehenden schwer zu vermitteln. Schließlich sind viele Sozialwohnungen aufgrund der alten Bausubstanz nicht „Best in Class“. Entsprechend können Unternehmen mit Sozialwohnungen bisher nicht für ihren gesamten Bestand, sondern nur für ausgewählte Neubauportfolien (inkl. aufwendig modernisierter Gebäude) über eine nachhaltige Finanzierungen nachdenken. Denn nur diese eignen sich für die hohen Standards der bisherigen Labels und Zertifikate.

Verbesserung als Nachhaltigkeitsfaktor

Bei der Außensicht wird oft übersehen, dass Wohnungsunternehmen mit „alten“ Bestandsportfolien einen großen positiven Beitrag im Streben um Nachhaltigkeit erbringen. Sie vermieten sozialverträglich unter Marktpreis und können durch die Renovierung und Modernisierung ihrer Bestände (z.B. durch den Austausch von Heizungen, Fenstern oder Fassaden) signifikante Einsparungen von CO2 erzielen. Oft werden diese Verbesserungen aber erst durch zusätzliche Kapitaleinwerbungen umsetzbar.

Viele Sozialwohnungen sind aufgrund ihrer alten Bausubstanz nicht „Best in Class“. Trotzdem – oder gerade deswegen haben Investitionen in Modernisierungen eine besonders große Wirkung auf die Ökobilanz des Bestands.

Label für nachhaltige Verbesserung

Investoren und Stakeholder benötigen einen zuverlässigen Nachweis über die Nachhaltigkeit des Wohnungsunternehmens. Durch unsere große Expertise in der Wohnungswirtschaft und mit Energiemanagementgesellschaften der Immobilienbranche kennen wir uns mit allen relevanten ökologischen und sozialen Kennzahlen aus. Zusammen mit vier europäischen Wohnungsgesellschaften haben wir Bewertungskriterien zur Messung des grünen und sozialen Impacts von Wohnungsunternehmen entwickelt – die Basis für das Certified Sustainable Housing Label.

Certified Sustainable Housing Label

Im Rahmen eines Labelling-Prozesses prüfen wir Wohnungsunternehmen, die sich um eine Nachhaltigkeitszertifikat bemühen, anhand eines umfassenden Kriterienkatalogs und relevanter sozialer, ökologischer und ökonomischer Kennzahlen. Eine zweite unabhängige Instanz überprüft im Anschluss unsere Ergebnisse. Nach erfolgreicher Zertifizierung darf das Wohnungsunternehmen mit diesem Label auf dem Finanzmarkt und gegenüber der breiten Öffentlichkeit auftreten und sich als zertifiziert nachhaltiges Wohnungsunternehmen ausweisen.

Jährlich überprüft

Mit den Kriterien des Labels wird die Nachhaltigkeit eines Wohnungsunternehmens messbar. Die Umsetzung und Erfüllung der Ziele, die im Rahmen des Labelling-Prozesses festgelegt wurden, werden jährlich geprüft. Das Unternehmen muss seine Fortschritte und Ergebnisse transparent dokumentieren. Verfehlt das Unternehmen seine nachhaltigen Ziele, wird das Label aberkannt.